Sparkling
Inspirations & Reflections, Musings

Happy New Year! Choose 1 Word to Define Your Year!

Happy New Year!
I hope all of you had a good new year and holiday season whether you spent it at home or out at a big party celebrating!
It’s a new year, a new start, and another 365 days of possibilities.
Here’s to a great year ahead for all of us — one that is filled with happiness and realization of goals.

Like myself, you may enjoy making a list of things to achieve during the year, writing down 3 or 20 resolutions. Or perhaps you don’t believe in resolutions or maybe your life is close to perfect so there’s not much more you’re asking for.

Whichever category you fall in, here’s a way to live your year the way you want it.

Choose one word and work at living your year that way.

I chose Happy.

I'm going to be happier and this is going to be happy year

I’m going to be happier and this is going to be happy year

I want to be happier this year, I want this to be a happier year.
I need more happiness.
And while I said choose one word, I’m adding on a related point which is to be less stressed about everything.
I need to be less stressed out about things and be happier.
There we go! That’s how my year is going to be for me– a happy happier year!

The irony is, it’s going to take alot of work and effort to the happy and happier.
We’re only into the 4th day of the new year and I’ve already been fighting to live my hours and days that way (the happier way).

New Year’s day, I was tired, sleep deprived and stressed out about all the new year emails I wanted to send to say hi and reconnect with people. I spent the whole day doing that.
By the time evening came around, I had a headache and was slightly dizzy and had to drag myself to a pre-arranged dinner. Dinner dragged on too long and I was even more tired by the time I reached home.
I was grouchy and resented having to appear at the dreaded work desk the next day.
I was annonyed, pissed, irritated and stressed because I hadn’t sent out all the emails I wanted to.
Basically I was the opposite of happy and less stressed. Not a good start.

2nd day I grouchily dragged myself to get to my work desk and begrudgingly sat through the day, wishing it would be over. Working on a document write up, I had a draft which I hoped would just require a few changes. But NO. The person had a whole lot of new ideas to add which meant MORE Work for me.
2nd January — I am NOT in the mood to work. Again, not exactly happy.

This morning started out well, I forced myself to wake up early and go for a yoga class.
Then it got a little rough. I had things to do but was paralyzed fear and took me awhile to get started.
I managed to get 2 hours of work done which wasn’t much but better something than nothing.
Segue to tonight, I met with a friend for dinner which was nice. We had drinks and pasta and chatted the night away. A improvement on being happier.

I’m working at being happy and less stressed.
A few minutes ago, I could feel the stress creeping up as I thought about the emails I haven’t replied to and the things i need to take care of this weekend that I haven’t started on.
It was enough to get me into a bad mood.

Then I reminded myself, I need to live the year happy.
I took a deep breath and started this post.
I am going to work at be happier and having happy year.
I can do it. And I will be happier.

I’m going to reply to those emails and take it in stride, and stress out less about it.
That’s the plan =)

What’s the one word you chose to define your year?

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year! Choose 1 Word to Define Your Year!

  1. I’m going to try to be more ambitious this year, Ambitious is my word. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

    Posted by Molly B and Me | January 6, 2014, 8:45 am
  2. Hi Molly, Happy New Year! I’m happy to have got you inspired! You go girl! Live your year and life ambitiously and go try and push for all the things you wanted and longed to do. Anything specially you want to be ambitious about? Love to hear about it! Hugs and wish you a great ambitious successful year ahead!!

    Like

    Posted by SparkaliciousWit | January 8, 2014, 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

