Sparkling
Brilliant Wittyness, Musings

How Difficult is Dating these Days?

How difficult do you think dating is these days?

Let’s check based on recent news stories which pretty much tells the tale of my dating life…

You’re trying to be a size 0 and working your ass out (literally) in the gym in your little spare time because you’re trying to get your body to be as close to Mirander Kerr’s body as possible …. for when you walk down the runway in diamond encrusted lingerie being watched in HD by millions of viewers…

Because guys expect you to look like a supermodel... I'm not starving & turning into a gym rat just to get your interest

Because guys expect you to look like a supermodel…

As for me? I love food. I’m not going hungry to be thin.
As it is I have the toughest time keeping my weight stable.
I’ve gained 3 pounds over the last 2 days.
I’m not fat, but I’m not super-model proportions either.

This woman, Christy Morgan, lost  289 pounds over 2 years from changing her diet….. I salute her.
Her story is pretty inspiring, go read it. I’d be happy to lose 10lbs…

Christie Morgan at over 400lbs before and 114lbs now

Christie Morgan at over 400lbs before and 114lbs now

She says it’s all about “I CAN”.
Guess what people? I can works both ways
I CAN finish an entire bag of Cheetos in 1 sitting!!!

She’s now lighter than I am at 114lbs… that is probably not a good sign for me.
But I take deep breaths. I remember reading some self-help tips that I should breath A LOT.

I get the courage to tell the guy I’ve liked for the longest that I like him and want to spend time with him…
Not pushy. Just telling him how I feel.
Somehow I think he’s going to see me more since I’ve helped him clear the uncertainty factor.
Then, he says he wants a beauty queen with brains…. Totally depressing.
I eat half a tub of Ben & JErry’s.
I’ll have to spend the next week working that off…
Wait. I barely work out. I guess that’s not going to be a problem after all! =P

Well, I came across this while emptying the ice cream tub.

“Beauty Queen Arrested in Bomb Making and Bomb Throwing”

Miss Riverton, UT, Kendra Gill enjoys making home-made bombs and throwing them out of cars at night.
The Miss Riverton Organization couldn’t wait to see what she was going to accomplish this year.
Yeah, well, now they’ve seen. The wait is over.

Isn’t dating tough? You think you’ve the perfect date with beauty and brains.
You’re SO intrigued by her love for chemistry.
Than she bombs. Quite Literally.

When Brains and Beauty Collide... She's beautiful, especially when assembling home-made bombs  with sharpnel and throwing them out of cars. You want Feisty? You Got It!

When Brains and Beauty Collide…
You want Feisty? You Got It!
She’s beautiful, especially when assembling home-made bombs with shrapnel and throwing them out of cars.

Ha! He can get someone who’s going to blow up his house when she’s pissed with him.
Here’s brains and beauty… That’s what he wanted right??

I chuckle and feel MUCH better.

So I decide to move on to meeting someone I met online .

He seems nice. We seem to be able to have a conversation, at least we do online.
He’s educated and can write a proper sentence.
We meet up….

He couldn’t find the place and said I gave him bad directions.
His online personality is much better.
The conversation doesn’t flow. Mosquito larvae would breed if we stayed long enough.

I’m trying to make conversation with all my magical powers without it sounding like a game of Taboo.
He seems not to be making any effort to initiate conversation.
He answers my conversation topics with less than 5 words.
He seems bossy and dismissive about the things I like
(art – “what’s the point?” , animals – “There are too many to save. They’ll live or die.”)

You thought that was a bad first date? Well, I thought I had a bad first date.
Then I realize that wasn’t that bad.
This guy had a HORRIBLE first date!!   Woman on Date Falls to Death from 17th Floor Balcony
Imagine the trauma and years of therapy he’ll have to go through….

The Murderer: Defective Balcony

The Murderer: A Defective Balcony

The takeaway is : bad dates aren’t THAT bad. There’re worse dates (see above)

Maybe I should follow their cue and try an experiment with a guy friend I like.
A Social Experiment: 40 Days of Dating Between Friends

Can Men & Women just be friends?  Chris Rock jests, every platonic friend that he had was someone he was trying to sleep with, made a wrong turn somewhere and ended up in the "friend zone."

Can Men & Women just be friends?
Chris Rock jests, every platonic friend that he had was someone he was trying to sleep with, made a wrong turn somewhere and ended up in the “friend zone.”

Yeah the only problem is I don’t think I can survive if he tells me I’m only a friend to him.
And I’m sure that will pretty much ruin the entire friendship.

If I ever get to the point of being engaged or going on a honeymoon,
I sure hope there are no boating accidents or fatal cruises involved….

Dating is difficult… to me.
How about you? Is it a breeze or tough for you?
Share your dating stories!

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Senior Dating is a taboo ? | Senior Dating - August 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

