Sparkling
Brilliant Wittyness, Inspirations & Reflections, Musings

Skeptical Hope

Hollywood is great at making series/movies that for attracts us for different reasons.

Sometimes, I stay glued to the TV because what I’m watching gives me hope.
Hope — that love is just around the corner, that life will get better, that things will work out (it usually does in Hollywood). As I’m writing this, it seems ironic to say Hollywood makes shows that give us hope. because it’s usually associated with fake,  false, and staged.

I was watching an episode of Enlightened (HBO) and I sat there continuing to watch it cos it gave me hope and IDEAS.  It put the idea in my head of “Hmm maybe i should just call a guy and tell him I want to see him. Maybe that’ll make everything easier!” Yeah sure.

Let me give you an example of the hope Hollywood gave me vs. reality.

Hollywood Version

Amy: I was thinking of you and I miss you. How about coming over tonight?

Guy: Uhrm coming over? to your side? Uhrm, Ok sure, how about I come about 6 and pick you up for dinner?

Real Life

Me: hey I was thinking of you… How about meeting up sometime this week?

Guy: uhrm, i’m not free bye. (proceeds to run away)
I’d like to emphasize this actually happened. I did that before I watched this episode. So even though i was slapped in the face by the guy, this episode made me feel like I should somehow crazily do it again.

Hollywood Version

Amy: It’s so good to see you

Guy: It’s so good to see you too.

Real Life

Me: It’s so good to see you
Guy: Uhm ok. I gotta go (runs away)
Me: But you just got here…
Guy: (Speeds up and runs faster)

You get the idea.

So yes. While I was watching the episode, it was somehow moving. And that’s NOT the word most people would use to describe Enlightened. If I had to describe it I’d use words like “strange, awkward, trainwreck”. So just to be clear, it’s not some heart warming series.

But yeah it felt good watching that exchange.
Clearly, the effect is short lived since I’m sitting here writing (skeptically) about how badly the real life version would turn out. =P

But hope is wonderful. It’s great. Until it comes crashing down. Like a sugar high.
The solution? Drink more hope, eat more sugar. Don’t ever crash. Keep the high going.

Stay High, Keep Eating Sugar

Stay High, Keep Eating Sugar

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Skeptical Hope

  1. Oh pleeeeese! Clearly he wants you but is either not ready, or wants to do it nicely for you. Just keep sending subtle signals, and he’ll come ’round. Most likely. I mean it’s not like I run people’s lives for them. 🙂

    Like

    Posted by Robin | June 8, 2013, 4:35 am
    • Robin, thanks for your very sweet comments. See, I feel like I’ve made it clear enough I want to spend time with him. and I feel if I keep sending signals or finding excuses to text/talk to him, I’ll be throwing myself at him… what do you think? I think the truth may be that he just doesn’t like me. =( Now if you could fix that for me…. I’d be very appreciative =)))

      Like

      Posted by SparkaliciousWit | June 10, 2013, 12:33 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Decoding Guy – Weekday Dinner | SparkaliciousWit - July 2, 2013

Leave a Reply

